Why?

For the first assignment we were asked to look at a picture or object and ask “why?” in order to evaluate the elements and principles associated with the design. My favorite flower is a sunflower because it reminds me of my brother. I chose this picture because the design principle dealt with opacity. In making the back sunflower less visible, the opacity featured the front flower. In doing so, the viewer is able to see the overlapping of the pedals and depth to the seeds. Also, the close up emphasis made me envision the texture of the flower when you touch one and the contrast of the seed’s color and pedals. Finally, the opacity made the back flower exhibit gradients between the color elements within the flower. The blurring of the colors provided a unique contrast to the other flower. By looking at designs and asking “why?”  enables an in-depth look and appreciation for a picture.

images (1)

Leave a comment